2015 "lemon" Thor ACE motor home

we bought a new 2015 ACE last year,,July. We spent the entire summer going from one repair facility to another-- the water heater broke twice, the slide motor burnt out,the windshield washer motor burnt out, the step motor burnt out,the trim fell off the night stands,,I could continue. Each time Thor "stood by their warranty" but we lost days of vacation time. This summer--the slide stopped working again-we had to call road advice to help us push it in(not fixed), the generator quit, the water pump quit and apparently when the slide was pushed in a kitchen sink water line was "cut" because now that leaks! Once again we are cutting vacation short & heading back to Camping World with our "lemon"! Does anyone know if there is a lemon law for motor homes?? Help!
View full review
4 comments
#1140896

Florida does have a lemon law but it favors the manufacturers for the most part and the AG will be no help at all, she helped make those laws the way they are. If you do not qualify under the state law, you probably will under the federal one since it is much more friendly to consumers.

You have to apply first under the state then move on if your issue doesn't have anything to do with the motor or chassis, the remaining problems are covered under the federal law. Be prepared for about two years of back and forth with Thor's lawyers and lots of stalling.

#1140889

Yes there is a state lemon law, each state is different but if you don't qualify under the state statutes generally if you have had lots of repairs in a short period of time, you will qualify under the federal law. Lots of folks taking advantage of this route.

#1044128

If there is any justice left in the world, there would be. We have had a similar fate but when we last checked, there was no lemon law in Florida.

I recommend contacting the state Attorney General. Best of luck to all in this predicament.

#1032816

There is a lemon law in Ohio and we are pursuing it for our thor windsport. Our situation is similar to yours.

Call the states consumer protection office. They can help.

View more comments (3)
ID
#687053 Review #687053 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cape Coral, Florida
Pros
  • Layout of the rig
Cons
  • Quality of coach
  • Company response to problems
Reason of review
Poor poor quality,,too many lost days when we were either stuck or can't use it etc
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

2011 Thor Hurricane Quality

Biggest problem was that Thor issued a recall for 50 amp IOTA transfer switches but didn't purge their stock. A faulty unit made into our coach and we had a small fire and much damage under our bed from the bad transfer switch. Luckily I researched the problem and found the NHTSA recall, challenged the Ocala, FL dealer and the dealer was able to get some satisfaction from Thor for the repairs. I still had to pay half the labor. Several other less serious issues on the coach, some of which I ended up fixing myself. One very aggravating issue was the vinyl graphics cracked and neither the dealer nor I were ever able to get Thor to provide replacements or to divulge their source. I ended up removing the graphics (a huge laborious task) and painting the graphic design. The chassis has been bullet proof - can't say enough about the Ford F53.
View full review
ID
#684605 Review #684605 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ocala, Florida
Pros
  • Rv lifestyle and the floorplan
Cons
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Make others aware of lousy quality from Thor Motorcoach

2015 Thor Industries Challenger Review from Chicago, Illinois

I have read with great interest the problems with the purchase of a Thor recreational vehicle. I purchase a 2015 Challenger in February and have only been able to use it twice. It has been to 6 different service centers and is in one now since July21 with the repair work not being completed. I believe I purchased a lemon in fact I know it is. Sent letter to the CEO of Thor with no response from him but a nice lady who is trying to help with the service department in Indianapolis camping world. I would also like a new motor coach that is ready to use for fun not in a repair center. How do we the consumer make the Thor company responsible for the *** workmanship they sell? Linda Hancock
View full review
3 comments
#1051764

We have a Lemon too! Waste of $$$

#1019809

Linda

My husband and I are going through the same thing. Our Hurricane is a Lemon, too.

We hired Ronald Burdge in Dayton, OH and have filed a federal lawsuit against Thor. If your state does not have an RV lemon law, there is a federal RV lemon law that should cover you.

We would highly suggest you contacting Mr. Burdge at Burdge Law Firm and give him the details of your situation.

It's worth a shot!.

Good Luck

Linda

#1355509
@PissedConsumer1019809

I also had to go the Magnason Moss lawsuit route (full wall slide was manufactured incorrectly and showed catastrophic failure issues while still in warranty). My attorney, Dan Binn of Consumer Law Group, is working our issue with Thor.

View more comments (2)
ID
#682211 Review #682211 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
Reason of review
Bad quality

Wish we had checked complaints before purchase

Purchased a 2015 Thor Windsport. It is an absolute piece of ***. We have to take it to the shop after every trip because more things go wrong with it. When we call customer service they tell us to take it to have it repaired only to be repeated after each use. They still have not even paid the people they told us to take it to last. We are so disgusted with this purchase, Dixie RV in DeFuniak Springs that would sell such *** and THOR who couldn't care less about how the people who purchase their products are affected!!!
View full review
ID
#680387 Review #680387 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2015 Thor Motor Coach Windsport Rv
Cons
  • Product quality
  • Company response to problems
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$20000
Preferred solution
Exchange for better MotorCoach at same amount owed or less.

2012 Hampton Destination Trailer Review

Thor purchased the Hampton line of campers from Crossroads but now they say they cannot find the pricing code for our 2012 Hampton. We are attempting to sell this unit but no can obtain a lone without it Civil court time
View full review
ID
#680009 Review #680009 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Evensville, Tennessee
Reason of review
Pricing issue

2016 Thor Motor Coach Review

My friends just bought 2016 Thor coach took it out once its falling apart. They have 4 pages of items that are broke, dont work, screws coming up the floor, the lists go on.... Customer Service? Must be a thing of the past! No one will return their calls.
View full review
ID
#679219 Review #679219 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carson City, Nevada
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Thor Industries Service Center Review

We MUST have the name of an authorized diesel Thor Siesta service center in Spokane WA. We do not get a return call Cheri or Tom - 575 551 ****.
View full review
ID
#677321 Review #677321 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reason of review
Poor customer service

2015 Thor Outlaw Review

I purchased a 2015 Thor outlaw. Complete POS. No back up from Thor. Numerous problems. Spent almost 6,000 to make it drivable. Thor should be asamed.
View full review
ID
#670245 Review #670245 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Victor, Idaho
Reason of review
Bad quality
New Reviewer

Thor Industries Vortex Toyhauler is a LEMON

Thor Industries - Thor  Industries Vortex Toyhauler is a LEMON
Thor Industries - Thor  Industries Vortex Toyhauler is a LEMON
Thor Industries - Thor  Industries Vortex Toyhauler is a LEMON
Purchased this Thor Vortex 5th wheel Toyhauler brand new from Freedom RV Tucson Arizona in 2007. I have had no end of issues starting with sliding door never staying latched. The mirrored doors never stay on the tracks. The dvd stereo player had to be replaced. My...
View full review
View full review
Featured
ID
#666713 Review #666713 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Pros
  • Storage capabilities
Cons
  • Product quality
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$55000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Very poor workmanship and no back for dealership from Thor

We have have had problems with our batteries and charging system right from new,now have 9000 km and 3000km is delivery and 3000km is for us to return to dealer.Didnt know about bolt to hold fridge door till door was damaged and had to be replaced. Arm rests on caption chairs lose and fall off, sewer line broke off kitchen drain and was running into storage,slide has riped lino, radio in bedroom came with no antenna, so wouldn't pickup stations, no charging wire from motor to Rv battery. Debree in rear feul tank so motor would not run. This RV is a total disaster and Thor is not helping my dealer or answering my questions. My next step is Consumer Protection as I have had to pay bills for repairs and not seeing compensasion for money or loss of use and summer is over and have used for aprox 3000 km the rest of summer it has been waiting for repairs. That is where it is right now and nobody is telling me what they are going to do,always say they are working onit and have to talk to the next person in charge.
View full review
2 comments
#1011009

I have a 2015 Thor Tuscany. It was purchased in December, 2015.

The issues with it can fill pages. Started with a fire and has not stopped. One thing after another.

The response at Thor was, well to say poor is gracious. They do not stand behind their customers.

The CEO never answered a letter I sent to him asking for help!!!!!

Stay away from this company. Buyer Beware!!!

#1034672
@PissedConsumer1011009

Can you tell us where the fire was?

View more comments (1)
ID
#664919 Review #664919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Unity, Saskatchewan
Cons
  • Customer service
  • Warranty service
  • Product quality
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Full refund

2016 A.C.E.

first problem, first trip, the new design on the front of the ACE is a cheap screen that blew off . we called thor, no response. second trip hydraulic leak front jack, camping world has to wait for thor paperwork before they complete the job. radio doesnt work after i pick up the coach from camping world, so side camera and back-up camera are not visible. when i get it home and plug the electric on, the radio works, go figure. the door was off a bit, CW fixed it. stay tuned, we have only had this RV for 4 months and every trip something else is wrong.
View full review
1 comment
#1014601

If radio works when plugged in but not otherwise your battery bypass switch may be set to storage

ID
#664245 Review #664245 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Providence, Rhode Island
Cons
  • Playing phone tag with no results
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Never buy a Thor

Thor Industries - Never buy a Thor
RV was purchased on 7-31-14 from Camping World Statesville NC for xxxxx. Unit was brought home on 8-9-2014. Immediately we started noticing some things were off on this RV. A cabinet had broken latch. Couch back didn’t sit right. We also noticed moisture in the...
View full review
View full review
11 comments
#1207728

My sister , has a 2014 Thor ... And has had several problems bought it brand-new at ,,,camping world has been in the shop 6 time.

Ans still not fix ....called Thor and they won't call back .... Stay a way from camp world ... And Thor ...

She is. Afraid to go camping ....

View more comments
ID
#659899 Review #659899 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cary, North Carolina
Cons
  • Customer service
  • Company response to problems
  • Product quality
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$85000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Windsheild and rubber has shifted to the left of the vehicle

Our motorhome has just 29000 miles on it and the entire windshield assembly has shifted to the left. The top corners of the windshield have come out of the motorhome frame, more noticeable on the left side of the motorhome. The rubber that holds the glass in is shrinking and caused the windshield to shift to the left hand side. There is an approximately a 3/8 gap between the rubber and the motorhome in the upper corners of the windshield. This has caused serious leaks into the cabin in and around the dash components. It also caused the overhead decking to disinigrate and had to be replaced. I had to seal it up the best I could, but the gap is so large it very difficult to get a seal. When it rains the water leaks in on the dash and run down into the bottom of the dash.
View full review
ID
#658534 Review #658534 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Beverly Hills, Florida
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

17 issues with our 2015 ACE in 1 year!

New, 2015 ACE -- we have had a total of 17 problems and have spent most of the 6,000 miles that are on it traveling to and from various Camping Worlds. 1. Hot water heater thermo couple cracked -- "fixed" twice 2. pump on wiper washer burnt out 3. Slide motor burnt out -- wouldn't slide in 4. circuit board cover in engine comparment not fastened 5.all dash lights missing 6. had never been aligned -- so we had to pay over $200 for that 7. step motor burnt out 8. bedside table trim fell off 9. pantry door wouldn't latch so it flew open as we rounded a corner 10.wires under the bench seat "arced" causing the generator to not work -- found out there is a circuit switch for that on the back side of generator but cost us over $150 to have CW turn that on! 11.the dash AC quit working We have yet to vacation in this coach because each time we've taken it on the road something else happens. It is currently sitting once again at CW here in FT Myers FL
View full review
2 comments
#1038563

What a pain, ours , too

#1682998
@PissedConsumer1038563

I had most of the same issues with mine also. Sad nor with 117 hours on generator stop working.

More money.

7,300 mile. I bought brand new.

View more comments (1)
ID
#655950 Review #655950 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Myers, Florida
Cons
  • Product quality
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Thor Industries - 2015 Chateau Class C 31L Review from Washington, Pennsylvania

Bought our 31L class C thor chateau. In feb 2015 it's now June 2015. I've had to put in screws that were never installed in the electric sockets, drawers, kitchen seats. The breather line for the fresh water tank and cable line were crushed from a drawer support that's why the tv were pictures fuzzy, sewer hole was misaligned, but the worst thing I've found was the electric line and the gas line for the generator were lying on the generator exhaust pipe. We were so lucky cause we were dry camping at the pocono race track and had three grandkids with us and the gas line was leaking and and if I wouldn't of caught it there was a good chance of all of us dying in a fire. I contacted thor and all he kept saying was I turn it in and take it to camping world in Akron and they told me it would take two to three months. I kept telling them at thor I don't want them to fix it I want them to start taking pride in their product before someone dies from very bad workmanship. I have no idea what I will find next. I've been lucky so far. Thank for listening to me. Russell round.
View full review
ID
#655018 Review #655018 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, Pennsylvania
Reason of review
Bad quality
  • 1
  • ...
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • ...
  • 23