Thor Industries Reviews

Show reviews that mention
thor camping world problems coach world water service issues quality warranty
Filter review

Inquiry

I bought a 2015 Thour Ace in july 2014 we have only takentwo trips, here are the things we had to replace or have repaired night of purchase camped next morning slide out would not silde back had to have Campng world Georgia come out and rewire Windows came off the tracks had to have the windows openers replaced Cushions on seats by table were not Velcro down as stated in manuel The step stopped working, sliding out, had to have rewired This weekend coming back from Florida the aux batteries overheated called a tech he said there was a recall on them now they are not working Its one thing after another Please notify me if a recall on the aux batteries is in effect and where to go to get repaired or replaced George Page 903517**** gpapage@***.com
View full review
1 comment
#1071818

Forgot hsd to replaced starting battery already was dead. We have only on 2 long trips

ID
#742690 Review #742690 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Paris, Texas
Cons
  • Extremely poor workmanship
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Storage and draw opens

The cabnet that store my food keeps opening and I have only owned my winds port 2015 7 months in for warranty and they say it's not under it . We go down road and cabnet opens and bangs open and hits other side of coach . We were going to put latch but assumed under warranty and we have them fix so we put foot stool there .Crazy isn't it. Then stairs going out of door has draw does same thing and rattles and if you don't watch draw might be open when stop and you can step into it . I have almost many times . But wanted to wait to get into shop . But we have to pay . I said forget it I can fix it . It took us till 1st Oct to get in for other warranty so now still waiting Thor to approve and I have no motorhome no trips and paying . Nobody ever told me about this problem and we are planning on trading in 2017 to upgrade but I will check other company's and they process before we buy again . We really like everything else about outr first motorhome but not seeing we want bigger .
View full review
ID
#742488 Review #742488 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Redmond, Washington
Pros
  • Storage capabilities
  • Rv lifestyle and the floorplan
Cons
  • Warranty service is slow at best
  • Warranty service
Reason of review
Warranty issue, poor service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

2016 Thor Motor Coach Ace Rv Review

I purchased a 2016 ace and I have not had any problems with the people or the rv. The v10 has plenty o power and handles fine. Gonna travel around the USA. With it.
View full review
ID
#739025 Review #739025 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
El Monte, California
Product
2016 Thor Motor Coach Ace Rv
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer

2016 Thor Vegas

I hate to say it but made in America means nothing to Thor. I wonder if they use American's to build these *** motor coach's. I guess they have no Quality Control at the plant. They must sit in there offices and drink coffee and wave the finished product through. My coach has so many small items that should have been caught at the factory. How do you put a drivers window in that is the wrong size and takes a gorilla to open. It was driven 1100 miles to the dealership and not even the driver noticed the problems. I tried to take it back to get the warranty work done at the dealership,(motor home specialist in Fort Worth Tx.) and they told me the only open they had was in late November, I replied to them it was stuff that should have been done at the factory or been caught by you before delivery. So I take it to camping world to get it fixed. It takes 3 days to get an ok to do warranty work done because they have to send PICTURES to THOR so make sure it is warranty work. Then you have to wait for the parts to be shipped. It's ben 14 days since the parts were ordered. The factory is in America for pity sakes. I own a CRV and had to get a part for it from Japan and it only took 3 days to get here and was installed on the 4th day. Come on THOR live up to the standard of MADE in America which is supposed to mean QUALITY.
View full review
2 comments
#1191542

I own a new to us 2015 Vegas Thor. We have had problems as well.

The driver side window that is mounted on the vehicle came loose while driving Texas bumpy roads with a sidewind. Luckily I heard the velcro ripping sound and was able to pull over in time to Gorilla tape it to the RV.

Our local RV repair shop was able to replace the fiberglass supporting the window and reattach it properly. So be ware of purchasing from Thor!

#1063933

I own a 2015 Palazzo and agree. Thor has no quality at all.

They are absolutely horrible to deal with.

Prospective buyers, DO NOT BUY A THOR product!!!!!! Heed my warning!!!!

View more comments (1)
ID
#731997 Review #731997 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Water Leaks = DEADLY BLACK MOLD

Hi folks, I found this page by chance after searching and researching options in the fifth wheel and travel trailer market, my wife and I are seriously looking to purchase a trailer. My primary concern is that most of you have experienced water leakes in your trailers and I'm not sure how many of you truly understand the risk of exposing yourself and your family to BLACK MOLD! Black mold is not a joke, it will make you and yours extremely sick. Most people don't know that when construction material is exposed to moisture even for a short time the possibility of a black mold blum is almost certain. This means even if you get the manufacture to fix the problem chances are that behind your wall or under your carpet you will have a massive BLACK MOLD problem. I at one time thought that Black mold was a joke, I thought it was one more thing that "super sensitive folks" complained about, but type in black mold in your browser and please read. I have a very close friend and his family who suffered from such a problem in their newley built home and now my friend and his son have serious neurological issues!!! I realized that the he mold was a serious problem when their newly built home was condemned and they were forced to walk away from their $450,000 home and almost everything in it. Please be aware of the fact that with exposure to water the walls , sub floor, carpet, carpet padding and many other things that your trailer is made of may have a BLACK MOLD outbreak and cause your family to get very sick...
View full review
2 comments
#1113593

What has this post got to do with Thor Industries?

#1077948

Thanks

View more comments (1)
ID
#723151 Review #723151 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Eureka, California
Reason of review
Everything
New Reviewer

2016 THOR ACE All Models very uncomfortable to drive

We just bought a 2016 THOR ACE 30.2. This vehicle does not have a seat that lowers up and down making it very uncomfortable to drive. The vehicle is very uncomfortable to drive. The first trip we took was only 120 miles a I fund it very difficult to push the gas pedal. I called the THOR Manufacturer and explain the situation and he basically told me it's yours you bought it. They did not offer any solution to the poorly designed drivers seat. Not the help I was looking for after spending $85,000 plus. After all the whole reason for buying a RV is to travel comfortably.
View full review
5 comments
#1112910

Didn't you drive it before you bought it???

#1113231
@PissedConsumer1112910

Yes but not far enough. Only about 10 miles.

The first trip we took was several hundred miles and that is when I realized how comfortable the seats were. I had 5 inch rises installed by the dealer (see comment below) and that made the seating lower like a car. It rides much more comfortably now.

Good Luvk they are very attractive coaches but I have to agree the quality control is very lacking.

I have found over a dozen loose screws just lying around. Never had that with any car or boat I have bought.

#1090868

Just bought 2016 ACE 30.2. Had to build a 3 inch platform to go on the floor under the drivers feet and the passenger seat feet since neither have vertical adjustment.

Very uncomfortable. Both bunk Tv's are are mounted too low to be viewed lying down - and the side mounted DVD player slot is blocked by the GFI power cord making them unusable.

It's as though no one from Thor took the time to ever review their engineering. Coach is 2 weeks old.

#1091348
@PissedConsumer1090868

Thor makestwo other riser heights 5 and 7 inches. We had the ten inch risers replaces by 5 inch rigors by the dealer we bought the THor ACE from. This worked great as it not seats more like a car.

#1056861

Good luck. We have a 2015 ACE, purchased Feb 2015, that has been with the dealer more then with us.

Not major repairs, except for the toilet backing up, but enough to be a pain in the rear. From what I have read after the fact.

Poor quality, poor manufacturer service and lots of unhappy customers. Too late for us since we are their victims but hoping other prospective purchasers find out before purchase.

View more comments (4)
ID
#722407 Review #722407 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Powell, Tennessee
Cons
  • Product quality
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$85000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
What a big mistake buying an ace motorcoach, two pages of repairs in the first week of ownership from the front window to the back. We had window, plumbing, air conditioning, bolts coming up though the vinyl, doors that are warped, cable not working on three TV'S. You...
View full review
View full review
ID
#720669 Review #720669 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sandpoint, Idaho
Reason of review
Bad quality

Thor Industries - 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E Review from Tallahassee, Florida

Hydraulic lines for auto stabilizer jacks are poor quality and oozing hydraulic fluid. One line flew off while driving RV. Contacted Thor, and since we've had the 2014 Hurricane we bought new for about 18 months, were told too bad but not a warranty on it. Our mechanic said they used really cheap and shoddy hydraulic lines. Just another in a list of cheap ways to slap an expensive RV together. Will be the last Thor we ever purchase!! Too into profit at the expense of really poor customer service. They just don't care. When enough people quit buying their product, maybe they'll care then. Pissed in Florida
View full review
1 comment
#1089002

We are having the same issues we bought a 2013 Thor hurricane. after being in the shop for a year went up to Thor Motor Coach 50 + items to be repaired came back with over 75 issues damage that they had done while trying to repair you might want to Google search federal attorneys there is a federal lemon law, Dayton Ohio is a good start

ID
#720526 Review #720526 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tallahassee, Florida
Reason of review
Bad quality

Quality that is an insult to the American worker

Thor Motor Coaches are all bad quality! The Thor company just does not care about quality and their employees don't care about quality, period. This as all of their products, including their Class A and C motor-homes. Sad to see that Made in America means so little as far as quality goes. Our Thor Class C is the poorest made coach we have ever seen. Support from Thor is just lip service. Just sad. Also, support from Camping World is abysmal. We finally took our Class C to a different Thor dealer because Camping World is so bad! Stay away from Thor and from Camping World. Both are terrible and an insult to American workers!
View full review
3 comments
#1063934

I own a 2015 Palazzo and agree. Thor has no quality at all.

They are absolutely horrible to deal with.

Prospective buyers, DO NOT BUY A THOR product!!!!!! Heed my warning!!!!

#1057521

I totally agree!!We had nothing but problems from the start with both of them. Once they got our money, they didn't give a ***

#1055129

I agree with you 1000% We own a 2014 Class A Challenger 37DT. Nothing but problems and allot of major ones. Getting ready to dump the hunk of junk.

View more comments (2)
ID
#720117 Review #720117 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Pros
  • Layout of the rig
Cons
  • Quality of coach
  • Product quality
  • Company response to problems
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$5000
We bought our Thor Outlaw motor coach in Dec. 2014. I was supposedly a new 2014 model. We have owned this motor coach for about 10mos and have never been outside of Florida. In fact we haven't been more than 90miles from home. We have found that the whole undercarriage...
View full review
View full review
ID
#717523 Review #717523 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Leesburg, Florida
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$134000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Thor motor coach Ace

I purchased a Thor ace Motor coach. I feel I waisted $100,000. the air conditioning is no good. It gets too hot inside. Tries to cover vent but did not help. Too add another air condition will cost thousands of dollar. It is very uncomfortable. Cannot turns passenger seats around. Table in front cannot be used. It has been in server for 2 months and have not been able to use it. You see we are in our 70 and this has been a night mare for us. I do not recommend this coach and I tell people not to invest in this coach, it is a waste of money. I wanted to upgrade but would lose to much and of course the company does not want to loose money.
View full review
3 comments
#1053436

What a shame, you work your whole life and are ready to cruse into retirement and have to deal with yet another corporation that stands behind their stock price and not their commitment to the folks that took a chance and purchased one of their products.. This truly *** me off.

I hope someone starts a class action lawsuit, because I have literally read hundreds of terrible reviews just like yours that deal with Thor industry products... Best of lick, and I am truly sorry that our made in America concept has failed you and yours!!!

#1043660

in process of purchasing a thor super C and reading comments like these have made us pause as to whether we are making a good decision for us.

#1044112
@PissedConsumer1043660

Do more research....do not buy anything from Thor....poor quality, abysmal service, do not stand behind their products. We purchased a Kodiak and though we love the facade, I cannot wait to sell it in a few years...

View more comments (2)
ID
#711019 Review #711019 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Pros
  • Customer support people were nice
Cons
  • Product quality
Reason of review
Air conditioning not adequate

Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F Review

Never ever buy a thor, bought a new hurricane in 2014 it's spent more time in the shop than at the house, have hardly got to use it. To many problems to list but started the first time we used it the screen door fell off followed by the oven door and it's been all down hill since. Camping World is just as bad.
View full review
ID
#709053 Review #709053 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Benton, Arkansas
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
We bought the 2004 Damon Motorhome new and have had many problems with water leaking around the windshield rubber gasket. in the last year we have had the windshield pop out of the rubber gasket causing large amounts of water to come in during rain storms. We sealed...
View full review
View full review
ID
#707152 Review #707152 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pros
  • Rv lifestyle and the floorplan
Cons
  • Company response to problems
  • Quality of coach
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Thor Damon Daybreak/wind sheild issues

I purchased a 2011 Daybreak and it currently has around 31000 miles on it . It has multiple Windshields in it due to cracks caused by shifting. It even made a trip back to the Elk Hart Indiana Factory to correct the 3rd Windshield that cracked due to stress. They sent it Home it sat in my Drive for several months with no issues. I drove it to New Mexico and parked it in a RV park Sept 2014 in June 2015 still parked in the RV park not moved the windshield completely popped out of the front cap creating a gap in the seal and the fiberglass cap. the windshield will not go back in completely and Thor just says it is my issue so apparently they don't build a unit to last beyond there own warranty. This unit has had many different issues also. Thor builds the worst RV in the world.
View full review
ID
#703870 Review #703870 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Denver, Colorado
Product
2011 Thor Motor Coach Daybreak Rv
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$80000
Preferred solution
Full refund

The government should shut Thor motor homes down

You got a good one. I couldn't list everything wrong with my new Thor 2015 hurricane. All of your troubles plus a bunch here. They got my hot water heater on electric going by finding a disconnected wire under the sink in junction box. I'm lucky that in Texas motor homes come under state lemon law. I have far and away exceeded the limits for out of service time. I just picked it up yesterday after a month in the shop. I bought it in July and it's been at demontrons 5 times totaling 6 weeks. If it quits one more time I'm going to test the state law Steve
View full review
4 comments
#1216427

I also have a 2015 Thor Hurricane which is presently in for its 7th trip totaling 100+ days! Purchased it at the end of 15, so it's only about 9 mos old!

No matter how many times they fix it, it continues to have problems.

I've asked several dealers for its trade in value and they won't even respond!

Seems they know that they're lemons.

Even though my states lemon law doesn't cover rv the federal lemon law does. I'm currently looking into my options that way.

#1051761

Could you please contact me...

Mytxgetaway@***.com

#1051759

We have a Thor 2015 hurricane and we are about to call the lemon law hotline. It's been a piece of junk

#1039558

I can not talk about our Thor federal law suit, if you are unable to do the the date do the federal & will work too and is faster than state could be up to 1 to 3 years to complete. You will do mediation first and if not resolved you go to trial.

We just want our money back and labeled a lemon so no one will go through a year of held my Thor and dealer with a unusable piece of *** that does not work at all. We have the high end top line motor home.

Thor & dealer can not fix it at all with gutting it & starting over. Just do now get rid of it run it will not get better.

View more comments (3)
ID
#702050 Review #702050 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Willis, Texas
Reason of review
Bad quality